CISSP – Security Professional

CISSP domains

I am currently studying for to take the CISSP exam.  If I pass the exam and the review board approves my experience then I will be awarded the certificate.

The Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) is an information security certification that was developed by the International InformationSystems Security Certification Consortium, also known as (ISC)².

The CISSP curriculum covers subject matter in a variety of Information Security topics.  The CISSP examination is based on what (ISC)² terms the Common Body of Knowledge (or CBK). According to (ISC)², “the CISSP CBK is a taxonomy – a collection of topics relevant to information security professionals around the world. The CISSP CBK establishes a common framework of information security terms and principles that allow information security professionals worldwide to discuss, debate and resolve matters pertaining to the profession with a common understanding.”

From 2015, the CISSP curriculum is divided into eight domains:

  • Security and Risk Management
  • Asset Security
  • Security Engineering
  • Communications and Network Security
  • Identity and Access Management
  • Security Assessment and Testing
  • Security Operations
  • Software Development Security
Certification Title:Certified Information Systems Security Professional
Certification License:
Certification Body:(ISC)²
Certification Status:Studying (Goal is August 2017)